Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere.

It is critically important that we preserve our mother nature. But, we are selfish about our own needs, not thinking about the future generations. There is no doubt that we have innovated a lot in recent times. But, are all of those sustainable? This is highly questionable as seen in the use of the plastics by us. Personally, I believe plastic bags are bad for the environment. I think this way for few reasons which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, the disposal of the plastic bags are harmful to the environment and they are not recyclable. They are mostly disposed by burning them, and this produces many harmful gases, some of it are the greenhouse gases. Moreover, these bags are not recyclable. My personal life experience is a compelling illustration of this, I particpated in a social event - "Run By The Ocean" by Addidas at the Versova beach in Mumbai. The theme of the event was to raise awareness for cons of using plastic. In this we had to run 2 km. Then collect and remove dumped plastic from the seashore. I did this for several courses and I got to know how carelessly we dispose plastic wastes without thinking about the future painpoints. I also got to know how these adversely affect the aquatic life. And, from that date onwards I try my atmost best to avoid plastic. By carrying my own jute bag for shopping, or keeping a steel bottle with me always. This example demonstrates how plastic can badly affect the mother nature. Furthermore, plastic bags have been the main culprit for causing huge water floods due to water clogging of the drains. Drawing from my own experience, I clearly remember the Mumbai floods of July 2007. Me and my family had one of the darkest few days of our life. Mumbai recieves good amount of rainfall each year and that time it was a bit higher. But, not drastically high, something as a city we should have managed. The water flow was distrupted, water from dams released. We had water at the level of upto 2 floors at some places. When local community investigated, they got to know this was because of plastic bags blocking drainage. Now every year, these bags are cleaned before the monsoon season, but we need to do more. It is clear to see from this example, how uncontrolled use of plastic bags influence environmental factors thereby affecting us. In conclusion, I strongly believe that for enviroment, the plastic bags are nightmare. That is because they are tough to dispose in an eco-friendly fashion and they can cause very bad floods. Raw Score 4. 5 /5 Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Plastic bags are terrible for the environment. They should be banned everywhere. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples. Explanation & Recommendations Model Answer Idea Suggestions