Medium and small businesses should prevent hiring young females who do not ha

Medium and small businesses should prevent hiring young females who do not have family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later in the their professional career. In my opinion, this is a bad practice and I totally condemn it. As swami Vivekanada said we cannot grow with half of our work force sitting at home. In todays world, women are working shoulder to shoulder with men and in many areas they have proved themselves to be a better resource. When a women goes for maternity leave, and company helps her during this time. It leaves an impression on the organisation that they are being taken care of and also she is given some time to spend with her baby. For example, Tata group is known to have high ethics when it comes at women rights and her health. Also, having a homogenous work force comprising of men and women, makes the work environment really healthy. On the other hand if young women would be deprived of opportunities to work. It might lead to social uproar and companies image would get hamper. Moreover not only will it hamper the image it would in turn affect the growth rate and the quality of work in the organisation. In nutshell, we can say that not hiring young women who have not started their family, might sound financially a good move for the companies which are small in short run, but in the long run it creates more problem than the good and the potential loss that a company could incur due to this move is huge. Hence, companies should avoid such thoughts.