Medical studies have shown that smoking not only leads to health problems for the smoker, but also for people close by. For this reason, smoking should not be allowed in public places. Opponents argue that the forbiddance of smoking would possibly affect the freedom of choice or lead to the closure of many bars and pubs. However, supporters of this ban place people’s health problems at the top of the scale.

Medical studies have shown that smoking both leads to health problems for the smoker and for people close by. Consequently, It is considered that smoking should not be allowed in public places. Although there are arguments on both sides, I strongly agree that a ban on smoking is the most suitable way. Opponents of such a ban argue against it for several reasons. Firstly, they say that tobacco smoke contains many chemicals that are harmful to both smokers and nonsmokers. Breathing even a little tobacco smoke can be harmful. In addition, Smoking causes cancers of the lung, mouth, throat, kidney, bladder, liver, pancreas, stomach, as well as leukemia They also argue it is a matter of freedom of choice. Smoking is not against the law, so individuals should have the freedom to smoke. However, there are more convincing arguments in favour of a ban. It has been proven that tobacco consists of carcinogenic compounds which cause serious harm to a person’s health, not only the smoker. Anyone around them can develop cancers of the lungs, mouth and throat, and other sites in the body. It is simply not fair to impose this upon another person. It is simply not fair to impose this upon another person. It is also the case that people’s health is more important than businesses. In any case, pubs and restaurants could adapt to a ban by, for example, allowing smoking areas. In conclusion, it is clear that it should be made illegal to smoke in public places. This would improve the health of thousands of people, and that is most definitely a positive development.