Media has positive and negative effects

Society is majorly influenced by mass media. It has a significant influence on many aspects of human life. There are majority of individuals, who opine that media impacts their lives in an adverse way, whereas others believe that it has a widely beneficial effect. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives in detail. Media is a very powerful tool with a massive reach, and therefore its impact is also more. There are people who consider that media has deleterious effect and claim that it telecasts violence and vulgarity and shape opinions negatively. For instance, media can exaggerate riots happening at a place and can further trigger people to fight and protest. Moreover, it also shows inappropriate and uncensored things that effect young minds and force them to act in undesirable manner. Hence, some media news that shows indecent content, propagates vandalism, and escalate further negativity. On the other hand, people who believe media influence positively provides two main reasons; connection and convenience. Irrespective of geographical barriers individuals can remain updated of things happening around the world; they can receive information regarding any catastrophic events that are occurring. Hence, our large planet Earth is now considered to be a small global village. Furthermore, people can remain informed of all international events or sports from the comfort of their home. Like the current Expo held by the UAE can be viewed by people across the globe. Thus, media enables people to remain connected with great comfort. To summarise, media can influence people negatively by showing inappropriate information and escalating issues leading to corruption. However, as many other people believe that it can promote greater connectivity and lot of comfort for people to be aware of global, thus, influencing them positively.