Media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children

Many young people around the world consider some celebrities as their role models. However, it is felt by many that media reporting of celebrities’ lifestyles has a negative impact on adolescents. I agree that for certain cases this opinion is true, but there are more famous persons who can also influence children for their good. To begin with, it is true that the portrait of famous celebrities socialized by the media and tabloids can affect the insecurity for some teenagers. Media often creates the “ideal” standard of body image based on celebrities’ image. This false idea then leads to the reactions of many young people todays on how they should be looked. For instance, in Indonesia the ads in TV or photos in magazine and social media platforms usually portraying a skinny, radiant white-skin celebrities. By showing this, more and more children, especially young girls, trying hard to get the same skin tone and “ideal” body shape so that they can feel more confidence with their looks. They are comparing too much because they get lack of self-confidence and sometimes feel worse about their own bodies. Nevertheless, some media also come up with the encouraging news of some famous people who have inspired young people towards a successful career. As a role model, many celebrities regularly share positive advice on their personal account in social media just to give supports for their fans, especially the teenagers, in order to build their self-esteem to success by working hard and not giving up easily. As an example, Agnez Monica, a well-known singer in Indonesia, always motivates her followers in Instagram by sharing her toughts and experiences on how perseverance finally led her to the favourable outcome. Another good example is Maudy Ayunda who has inspired her young admirers towards education by being accepted in Stanford University. These typical cases show how the news about superstar’s in media could also provides a number of positive effects on teenager. In general, indeed celebrities lifestyle presented on media can lead to the unsatisfactory behaviour on a child, but there are many popular people whose personal stories could give a motivation for people in the young age.