Material things are valued more than virtues

The current society, which is complex by its nature, appreciates monetary gains and social class more than good qualities. However, should money, wealth and career overcome the virtues of kindness, honesty and generosity? By looking at today’s world, I can agree with the statement that monetary and other physical values have become more important than personal qualities. In past, love and marriage were considered as emotional matters. When finding partners, the parents or the person who wishes to get married used to study more about the other person’s better virtues such as honesty, kindness and generosity. But, in the modern society, the most concerning things in a proposal has become wealth, education and career. As an example, if we look into proposal advertisements, we can see that those are filled with property values, educational and professional qualifications that the person possess. The immaterial things such as good qualities and habits have being ignored. If someone does not have significant monetary gains and a good career, even though he is a person with a good career, may not be able to find a partner. Within this highly competitive world, people are being penalized by others due to the fact that they don’t own wealth and prosperity. We can usually see that most neighbors and relatives inquire about the vehicle someone owns, position someone holds inside the office or how big the house is. No matter how much the person have admiring qualities, he or she will have to be worried about the material things that he or she does not possess at the moment. The career development also plays a significant place in the society. Employees always need to go up the ladder with promotions by hook or by crook. They have become more selfish and less generous. People do not like to see the achievements of others anymore. They are in such hunger of promotions and development that they try their level best to get rid of their competitors. Quality development of career life is diminishing rapidly. As a conclusion, my personal view is that human beings should concern more about the qualities that they perceive more than monetary rewards and social progress. People should value virtues at the same time of appreciating material things.