Mass customization- MULTI-AGENT MODELLING FOR SIMULATION OF CUSTOMER-CENTRIC SUPPLY CHAIN

Mass customization is a key answer to take into account the dynamics of customers’ requirements. Mass customization consists of making products in large volume and adapting to individual customer needs, in accordance with mass production principles. To cope with the volatility of customers needs, characterized by a dynamic evolution of the products, SC have to adapt their structure and their coordination processes. The organizational structure of the companies has to be adapted in order to deliver personalized products in shorter delays than those necessary for their manufacturing. In this context, the period between the order receipt and the delivery date corresponds to time necessary for the product customization and delivery. The processes and products need to adapt to meet objectives discussed above. The use of standardized methods and modular products contributes to the reduction of delivery periods and to the acceleration of personalization. SC directed by the production and distribution of personalized products adapt their organizational structure as well as the relationships among companies, altering material, information and monetary flows. To give an efficient response in shorter delays, the personalized product transformation activities become strictly make-to-order.