Marketing strategy for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this can impact on their reputation?

Companies employ various methods and strategies to compete with each other, among which is placing offers and discounts on their products and services. Such techniques may bring both advantages and disadvantages to their reputation. Admittedly, discounts and offers may promote sales. Many a time people are encouraged to purchase commodities in bulk which are not what they need because of lucrative price offers. Such unnecessary expenditures of consumer’s boost producer’s sales revenue and reduce their old stocks in special season. This leaves store room for new arrivals which can be sold for better prices to generate additional income. Nevertheless, sometimes these strategies invite price war causing income loss in the long run. Once price discounts are offered by one company, the competitors may also reduce their price on similar goods to attract consumers onto their sides. These business strategies in some cases give birth to price war, which undermine the profitability for the whole industry. For example, back in 1992 in China, the air conditioning producers Haisen cut price by 5% when they made his debut. In response to this, his competitors lowered market price by 6% and more. Unfortunately, all air conditioner producers didn't make a profit because of employing price offer and discounts unwisely. Hence, the downside of such marketing strategy must be considered. In a nutshell, although offers and discounts increase the sales of the products, companies also need to maneuver wittily in order to avoid price war, which brings no good to companies.