Marketing and promotion is key to a successful business. Agree or disagree?

It can not be denied that many companies spend a colossal amount of money on advertising their products or services. Some people claim that marketing and promotion is the principal reason for a successful business. In my opinion, it is not through advertising to bring the success to a business but also through the quality of products or services to help maintain loyalty of customers. Obviously, marketing and promotion creates a huge impact on selling products or services. Thanks to effective advertising, companies can produce brand awareness to the public, especially the target customers. That is also the reason why so many new or unknown companies employ mass media to publicize their products and establish their position in the market. However, there is another certain that quality of products or services play the equal role in a successful business. After all, no matter how popular the products or services are by using advertising, if they are poor standards then they can not last longer in a competitive market. The consumers now are more conscious and have a lot of other alternative brands to satisfy their standards. Moreover, quality consistency helps build brand credibility of the company and maintain customers’ loyalty to their products. For example, there are a variety of shampoo brands I know and experienced through advertising on television but I have spent my full loyalty to Pentin brand which gives me a satisfaction for many years by its high quality. In conclusion, although we have to admit the necessary of marketing and promotion as it is strategy to attract customers, I strongly believe that a good quality of products and services should also be paid equal attention because it helps companies build the consumers’ trust and the company’s reputation.