Manymajor cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.

Urban migration is causing an extreme pressure on living places and infrastructure in many huge cities all over the world. Consequently, some people suggest to reduce the area of parks, as they seems to be an unnecessary luxuriousness, due to new buildings for more residents. While it is true that these green places can take a lot of space, they play a much more important role in the city as one might expect. These public lands fulfil various absolutely essential functions to the residents. At this topic, we are not just talking about a green meadow and some trees between grey buildings, it is about the places of towns, where the citizens relax, walk, read, meet each other and do any different kind of sports outside of their apartments, jobs and transport vehicles. Especially in a world, the way of life is dominated by meritocracy, parks often mean an area of tranquillity and opportunity to rest one’s mind, in contrast to all the other, consistently busy parts of the city. Thus, to go one step further, these areas are an important part of the residents’ health. Doubtless, nature and even these green spaces can prevent people from depressions, burn-out and several other mental illnesses by just breathing some fresh air, relaxing and getting out of the daily routine for a short time. In addition, as mentioned right before, city planners have to consider carefully if building constructions at the expense of the people’s well-being and the environment is the best solution. Trees and other plants, for instance, are of significant importance for quality air by removing pollutants and increasing hydration. Furthermore, great parks and green land are often a key factor to assess the beauty of a city. This includes also how liveable a certain place seems to be. In conclusion, these public areas are far too important in every city to be removed, as they are a special place to be, to meet friends or just to relax from the stressful everyday-life. Besides, there is a proven positive influence to the health. Consequently, despite the enormous pressure for housing other, less quality-of-life-destroying, solutions have to be found.