Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals.

Some would argue that zoos should shutdown because they harm animals, while others say that they help in protecting rare animals. In my opinion, I consider that zoos are important and contribute in protecting various species. On the one hand, zoos are cruel towards animals which kills them. Many zoological-gardens lack the basic infrastructure and funds to take care of the animals. They often provide less food and medicines, which eventually leads animals to get sick and weak. For example, the only black panther in the world was starved to death in the Akwaaba Predator Park, Africa in late 19 century due to the negligence of the caretakers. However, I believe this happens very rare as nowadays the development in technology and surveillance system are utilised in monitoring the animals in the facility for their health and safety. On the other hand, zoos can play a part in protecting and increasing the numbers of the endangered species around the globe. For instance, many endangered species including the Bengal Tiger were bred across the national parks, and population was increased from 99 to 300 within a decade. This was achieved due to efforts of the Government and the Forest authority by setting up research facilities in the national parks which focussed exclusively on protecting them. I believe, this type of parks equipped with advance machinery should be built across the globe to protect wildlife. In conclusion, although animals were mistreated in various zoos in the past, it is not a good idea to demolish them, instead, latest techniques and facilities should be built with a sole purpose of protecting and preserving the wildlife.