Many universities today are offering online courses for students as an alternative of courses delivered on campus. Do advantages outweigh of this development disadvantages?

Nowadays, thanks to the development of technology, students in many universities are provided online courses instead of learning directly at school. While this advancement may be disadvantageous to a certain extent, I truly believe that its benefits are far more significant. On the one hand, it is undeniable that studying through some online platforms might have some drawbacks. The first negative of online courses is the lack of interaction between students with their tutors or peers. Online learners usually do not have many opportunities to discuss with their teachers and friends about the previous lessons since most online learning platforms are based on written forms of communication. Another compelling reason is that learners studying online tend to lose motivation and competition. While students in traditional classes can study together through group tasks, learners of online courses just finish tasks by teachers' assignments. This might lead to lack of teamwork capability of students. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the pros of online lessons outweigh the cons. The primary reason is that students could learn without going to school. Furthermore, this opens up the opportunity for international students who are struggling to study abroad, and Harvard University perfectly exemplifies this. During the pandemic of COVID-19, this university has offered numerous free online courses in many fields for students all around the world. Moreover, students who take part in distant courses can study in flexible ways. For instance, some students want to have a part-time job to support their family's finance or to do a living, hence, they would have a chance to arrange and balance between study hours and other aspects of their personal life by themselves. To conclude, while there are some drawbacks of studying online, I believe that the benefits that it brings far outweigh the disadvantages.