Many traditionalists believe that, however many people have access to the Internet, conventional newspapers will continue as the major source of news. I totally disagree with this view.

Many traditionalists believe that, however many people have access to the Internet, conventional newspapers will continue as the major source of news. I totally disagree with this view. The speed and convenience of the Internet in this digital age have led to the increasing popularity of online news. Firstly, the Internet is able to provide up-tothe-minute news as it happens, 24 hours a day every day. As long as I have my smart phone or laptop with me, I can connect almost instantly to the Internet, surf the websites and access the news of my choice across the globe. Secondly, more and more people now have access to the Internet and this trend appears set to continue. The more widespread the accessibility of the Internet, the more people will come to rely on it as their news source In contrast, newspapers have drawbacks which affect their popularity. One major disincentive of relying on newspapers as a news source is the cost. Competing with freely available news online, newspaper publishers are facing the reality of falling circulation figures. Some major American newspapers have now introduced online versions alongside their printed editions in an attempt to arrest this trend. Another disadvantage of newspapers is the amount of paper consumed in their production. With growing environmental awareness, there is a body of public opinion which rejects buying newspapers because this involves cutting trees and transporting them to paper mills. While this may not be a major factor at present, the environmental argument will almost certainly gain ground in the future. In conclusion, I would argue that newspapers will continue to decline in importance, and more and more people will use the Internet to access the news