Many things which were done in the home by hand in the past are now done by machines

Stepping into the 19th century, people started using machines in their life and this trend tends to grow more and more. Nowadays, a plethora of housework can be done much faster and easier than those in the past with the modernization of machines. This phenomenon contains both pros and cons, yet, from my point of view, i believe that improving doing household chores by machines brings people a lot of benefits. Although there is no doubt that the mechanization in housework exalts the productivity of doing household chores, it clearly has some drawbacks. The machine operation requires energy, which mostly comes from burning up non-renewable resources such as fossil fuels. This leads to a large production of CO2 and other greenhouse gases, which causes the greenhouse effect, ozone layer tearing, and also air pollution. Furthermore, due to the versatility and low price of plastic, it is used in many machines, while every machine is designed to be able to be used for a period of time and be thrown away after that. By this way, a large amount of plastic is discharged into the environment, exists for over 10 centuries until decomposes and negatively affects the ecosystem. On the other hand, it is undeniable that thanks to machines, people have abilities to do everything faster and more effectively than ever in the past. As all machines have to be checked carefully before coming onto the market and with synchronization in working, they have better work qualities than people who do by hand. For instance, people often need 5 to 10 minutes to wash dishes and they only can handle one thing, whereas by using the dishwasher, they can do other things such as reading books, playing video games, or anything they would like to do. Moreover, machines may help people not to touch toxic liquids such as washing gel, cleaning liquid, bleach, washing powder so that they can prevent from catching health problems like skin diseases. In addition, electronic gadgets make doing housework possible for everyone includes old people, who often find it difficult to do things by hand owing to their age. Besides, this development in doing things by machine not only gives people more time to spend on themselves instead of doing work they do not want to day after day, but also helps them in this busy life, especially women, who have been thought to have responsibilities to handle household chores, now have opportunities to become economically independent and enjoy the life more. To sum up with my opinion, even though using machines in doing housework has disadvantages, its bright points are still outstanding with several remarkable reasons I have mentioned below.