Many support the view that children who receive a weekly allowance can handle money better when they are mature.

Many support the view that children who receive a weekly allowance can handle money better when they are mature. To some extent I agree with the opinion that this would make children more capable and skilled in money management from early age but would possess some risks that cannot be ignored. To begin with, one of the main advantages of this practice is the achievement of the knowledge about money management in childhood. Moreover, it is believed that this is developmental period of life. Therefore parents should teach their children how to use money with savings by properly allocating it for basic needs. This is because when they become adult they would not find it difficult to utilize their income which is earned in the form of salary or wages. On the other hand in the early age children are curiosity and fun-loving in nature who are not physically and mentally matured yet to make decisions about money. As smoking and alcoholic beverages consumption is widespread among adults and grown-ups and adverts of these stuffs are constantly circulating on TV and billboards creates the basis for spending money on such purposes. To cite an example, this lead to open the doors of criminal world or even become a victim of evil minded people whose aim is to make money by cheating and harming the vulnerable children. In conclusion, I believe that though pocket money given by parents to children has some positive sides, its negative aspects should not be overlooked, albeit small.