Many supermarkets are now selling more and more imported food in many countries instead of locally produced food. What are the reasons for this? Is it a negative or positive development?

There has recently been an increase in the sales of foreign food produce compared to locally grown items by grocery stores. This discourse will expatiate on the probable reasons for this and establish why my stance that it is a negative development. To begin with, the causative factors for the rise in the sales of imported food are not far-fetched. First, an increased food supply will boost the economic status of a country. This is because most nations thrive on the benefits accrued from foreign exchange systems. For instance, Nigeria and the US have established agreement on the exchange of processed vegetables and dairy products for cocoa and herbal products. Secondly, there is also an increased demand on foreign food products. Most individuals opt for international grocery items due to unavailability of these as they can not be cultivated locally due to climatic conditions. For instance, many homes in Nigeria use basmati or Thai rice instead of rice indigenously produced. However, in my opinion, this recent trend is a negative development. This is because the heavy tax duties on imported goods are usually exaggerated and are sometimes an avenue for corrupt activities by immigration and border control officials. A classical example is seen in the trading activities at the border between Nigeria and Benin republic where exorbitant taxing fees are placed on the importation of poultry into Nigeria. Next, this leads to a net decrease production of home-grown produce as less demand is placed on the agricultural sector. Consequently, the nation is highly dependent on the international market to feed her citizens. In conclusion, economic stability and food security are plausible reasons for the increased merchandise of foreign foods than local options, However, this trend is a negative development due to heavy importation taxes and a fall in the performance of the agricultural sector of a country.