many students take part-time jobs when they study at university. Do the advantages of this trend far outweigh the disadvantages?

Tertiary education has long been perceived as an intrinsic part in the development of young people. However, the fact is that focusing solely on studies is not a common choice of students since many of them do part-time work to accumulate experience. This essay will examine the pros and cons of this practice in depth. To begin with, there are surely some benefits that students may enjoy from this tendency. First of all, part-time work allows students to experience the real workplace with all potential challenges as well as joy so that they may accumulate work experience which is of great use to their future employment. For example, many students work as waiters or servers in coffee shops or restaurants but they can form a professional manner and they know how to please customers as well as how to deal with tough situations, which will help them a lot later on. Besides, only by working to make a living can young people realize the values of money and how much their parents have sacrificed for them. As a result, some students may become more responsible and have better attitudes towards their parents and what they receive from their families. Some students may even earn some money to support themselves and finance their studies rather than rely totally on parents’ support. Evidence shows that the majority of Vietnamese students do part-time jobs when studying overseas basically because they want to share the expenditures with parents. This trend is, however, not totally free from drawbacks. The primary challenge is the fact that this work may interfere in students’ studies and some students may spend too much time on their work, leading to the lack of time for their major mission at school and for relaxation as well. A recent survey conducted in Australia shows that some students seem tired at lecture halls mainly because they have to work far into the night with their part-time jobs. Hence, the authorities have enacted some legislations and regulations to control the amount of time that international students are allowed to work. Some students even mistakenly believe that they can earn a big sum of money and save some to send home to their parents but the fact remains that their academic performance is the most important thing to their parents. No matter what students do, their schooling should be regarded as the highest priority and success just comes to those who focus on their major goal. In conclusion, it is evident that this choice may pose some risks to some students but I am firmly convinced that its merits far outweigh such trivial challenges. Hence, this development should be encouraged although students should always focus on their studies as their main duty.