Some people think that the government should spend more money on taking care of old people but others believe that it is better to invest in young people. Discuss these views and give your opinion.

The money from the public budget needs to be logically allocated for different sectors with the ultimate goal to benefit the whole community. Some people, therefore, hold the view that investing in medical care and associated services for senior citizens is a priority while others are of the opinion that it is wiser to use money for the youth. This essay will analyze these views in depth. To begin with, the first view is totally justified for the fact that elderly people deserve the investment from the authorities. The fact remains that old people have worked for years to bring up children, to finance their families, to shape young people’s perception, to create new values and to contribute to the general development of the society. Hence, it makes a lot of sense to provide them with a carefree period of time at the end of their lives when they can enjoy their passion, feel secure under the protection of proper social welfare and the care from fully-qualified people as well as the love from their family members. In Vietnam, an adult may work for more than thirty years before he or she retires at his or her sixties and the average amount of time to really enjoy the old age is around fifteen years. Moreover, no matter what we do, we need to accept the fact that old ages are often associated with health problems and senior citizens do need the sufficient investment from the government in hospitals, nursery homes and training doctors and staff to take care of them. In Japan, a large proportion of the state budget is used for serving the old population and this amount is anticipated to rise in the immediate future. When the second view is taken into account, it is generally held that this view is also convincing. There has long been a sense among experts, the government in power as well as the public that the future of a nation is substantially determined by the quality of young people. In other words, the young generation is undoubtedly the future of the world and they are in need of rational support from the government in many aspects, the good education from gifted and caring educators as well as the frequent guidance from parents to develop on track and reach their full potentials. For instance, on the basis of the yearly investments in school facilities and in training teachers, the education system may work more effectively and young people will experience a far better education. Only when young people are shaped, protected, inspired and motivated can they truly realize their missions and dominant roles in the growth of themselves as well as the society as a whole. Without the interference and sponsorship of the government, it is a real obstacle to offer the best conditions possible for young people to grow up and fulfill their dreams. In conclusion, both elderly people and young counterparts need the adequate investment from the government. However, I am firmly convinced that money just plays a part in this story and it requires much more than that to meaningfully serve the aged population and to effectively boost the youth.