Many students want to drop out of school although they realize the importance of education. Why is this the case? What should be done to encourage students not to drop out?

Education has long been perceived as an indispensable part to the development of individuals and the society as a whole. However, the drop-out rate is rather high in some places, posing immense challenges to the society. This essay will analyze the relevant causes of this phenomenon and offer some feasible measures to deal with this problem. To begin with, there are several reasons for this tendency but we can list some of the most common ones. First of all, the tuition fees appear to be a burden for many low-income families or people in rural folks. In Vietnam, the rate of students who quit schooling at the age of under eighteen is rather large in remote areas where parents need kids to help them with farming and the expenditure for children’s education is surely an obstacle. In addition, the root cause may also lie in the quality of the curriculum and teachers. The fact remains that some programs were illogically designed and failed to meet the practical expectations of learning, making students confused when they cannot see the real connection between schooling and their future career. It is also generally acknowledged that teachers as the key factors at school are to blame for this worrying trend when some fail to inspire students and encourage them to prosper best with their hidden potentials. A nationwide survey in Vietnam shows a small proportion of students who are satisfied with the quality of teaching staff. Finally, the tremendous pressure generated by exams, tests, teachers and high expectations from parents also emerges as a reason. With regard to some solutions to this problem, it is generally held that the education ministry should demonstrate their dominant roles with rational policies and moves. For instance, free education should be provided in certain areas of the nation and students from poor families should get easy access to loans or special financial aid to encourage their children to study. More importantly, fully-qualified experts and gifted educators should put their heads together in order to design the curriculum with practical elements and they must make sure that students can benefit from their learning at school. One suggestion is to call for original ideas from companies so that students graduating from universities will be comprehensively equipped with skills and knowledge to work in the knowledge-based economy. Moreover, teachers need to observe students constantly and adjust their teaching methods with the ultimate goal to light the spark of curiosity among learners and help kids reach their full potentials. Evidence all over the world reveals that the impacts of teachers on students are immense and long-lasting. Finland is now a typical example of a nation where students truly enjoy their learning and the term “ drop out” seems to be a rare concept in this small nation. By way of conclusion, the roles of formal schooling are not to doubt and relentless efforts should be made from all members of the society to cultivate students’ love for learning. However, the bottom line is that students thrive best with the proper programs and the right instruction from adults.