Many students now have the opportunity to study in other countries. Studying abroad may bring some benefits to some students, but it also has a significant number of disadvantages.

An increasing number of students are deciding to study overseas and many find the option very attractive. Whilst this is not something that every student would choose, it is, in my opinion, an extremely attractive proposition for those who would benefit from the opportunity. Studying overseas has many advantages for students. Firstly, it will give students the experience of other markets, cultures and perspectives. This means that those students with overseas experience would become more attractive to prospective employers operating in this increasingly globalised world. Secondly, studying and living abroad will provide students with the opportunity of acquiring a second language at a social and professional level and, as a result, improving their contacts and employment prospects. Finally, the experience of studying and living in a foreign country would ensure that students become more independent, self-confident and self-reliant. On the other hand, studying abroad could have some disadvantages in some circumstances. If students had to study in a second language, it could limit their performance and their success in their chosen subject. Furthermore, for many students, studying abroad would have no material benefit, for example studying English in a non-English speaking country or taking some technical subjects would appear to offer little benefit. In conclusion, I believe that any disadvantages are heavily outweighed by the significant benefits that can come from studying abroad for those who would choose it or find it beneficial.