Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. with this opinion?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether the meaning of traditional festival was forgotten by many people. Personally, I tend to disagree with this for the following reasons. First and foremost, most people are able to know the meaning of their traditional and religious festivals by their name. For example, In Thailand, we have numbers of festivals and I believe many of us know the meaning of it as we can interpret by the name of the festival such as the Loy Kratong festival. Loy means floating in water in the Thai language, while Kratong is symbolic of thank you or apologise. Therefore we can translate that the Loy Kratong festival is related to thank you, apologise, or realise of the benefit of water which we use in our daily life as we float the Kratong in the river or canal. Another important factor is children were taught and examine the meaning of these festivals, especially children in Thailand so they have to remember the true meaning of every traditional or religious festival if they want to pass the exam. This requirement to remembering the meaning of the festival is not only for kids but also for teenagers. University admission also provides a set of exams related to the festival due to the fact that we are in a society that everyone needs to protect our own traditional festivals to last longer. That's the reason why it is contained in the school's outline including the university admission examination. I admit that there are some other people who might forget the real meaning of some festivals and they only want to enjoy themselves. Despite that, the majority in our society still remember it which we can find plenty of evidence from our own experience. In conclusion, I would argue that the meaning of traditional cultures or religious festivals have not forgotten by most people based on the above reasoning I have presented.