Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In my opinion advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. The main focus of an advertisement is to attract people towards the product or service, for example the advertisement of a beauty product focuses on the female buyers and tries to use the best models with perfect skin in their advertisement. After looking at such an advertisement many women feel like having the same type of skin and automatically falls in their trap. In my opinion advertisements should focus more on reality rather than giving false hopes to the customers. Every product claims to be the best in the market and hence invests a large fortune in advertisements. But they fail to tell the viewers/buyers about the actual ingredients or the side effects of their products. By watching advertisements people usually dream of having or using the same products and they end up being unsatisfied with what they have. I have personally experienced it myself while growing up. I had an acne prone skin and tried almost every fancy product that used to be advertised on television, which resulted in worst breakouts on my skin. Then I started using home remedies and also switched to lactose free diet and was able to have a clear skin within a few months. From this point of time in my life, I decided not to fall for these advertisements and live a simple and healthy life. So in my opinion people should think twice before buying anything unnecessary after watching an advertisement.