Many students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. What are the reasons for this and what solutions can you think of?

These days, many students graduate high school without learning the way to control their money. The overemphasis on academic subjects of schools and the upbringing process of students result in this lack of knowledge; however, it could be solved by several solutions. To begin, the first reason is that students are learning too much theory from books and lack soft skills including personal financial management. High school students concentrate more on studying theoretical knowledge and science subjects to get high scores in tests and exams. As a result, they will feel unfamiliar with balancing their income and expenditure in daily life. In addition, over protection from parents is also a reason for this issue. They want their children to be happy so they typically hide the financial problems and provide kids with sufficient money Nevertheless, there are some solutions that may be applied to solve this issue. Schools and educational institutions should provide more soft skills lessons, especially money management lessons. With instructions from teachers and practising exercises, students have more opportunities to train their financial control skills and avoid overspending money when they mature and live alone. Furthermore, parents should strictly limit the amount of pocket-money of students in a month and they only spend this money. This action will help pupils to monitor their budget habits effectively. In conclusion, although personal money management is a problem with many graduated students because of the lack of lessons in schools and the overprotection of parents, there are some ways such as adding more soft skills classes to handle it.