Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate?

Every student, during some parts of their education, especially while doing professional courses, has to stay away from home and live in a hostel accommodation. During this period, they share their rooms with other students. Roommates with certain qualities become ideal and others expect to have such roommates. In my opinion, a good roommate should be kind, understanding, open-minded, and free from any bad habit that would disturb the other members of the room. First and foremost, a good roommate should be kind and generous. He or she should be able to help the roommate when needed in their studies and give them mental support. There should not be any unnecessary fights or arguments. Moreover, he or she has to be understanding and friendly. Secondly, that person should not be selfish. As they live together, there should be an open-mindedness to share the facilities available equally between the two. For example, the time for using the bathroom, usage of night lamp for studies and so on. Lastly, a nice roommate should be free of any bad habits like smoking, gambling and drinking. It is quite often the fact that roommates with bad habit can influence others very fast since students spend most of the time with them and finally end up taking these habits to themselves. This, in turn, can have a very bad impact on their health, studies and characters. In conclusion, having a good roommate is essential for our professional and personal growth and as a roommate, we should also possess those qualities.