In your country, is there more need for land to be left in its natural condition or is there more need for land to be developed for housing and industry?

It has become a debatable issue in Indonesia- whether more lands should be converted into real estate and commercial areas or should the government preserve and maintain the natural areas. The following essay will discuss both views, but in my opinion, we could expand new residential areas but it should be accurately measured and properly executed. For a number of reasons, the government of Indonesia should conserve some of its' natural areas. Firstly, these green areas are producing oxygen which is an important part of the human respiration. As the number of trees and plants are decreasing, it might have a negative effect on the air quality. Secondly, the existence of the green areas can prevent some natural disasters such as flood and erosion. One of the examples would the annual flood disaster in Jakarta, which was caused by the conversion of Mangrove forests in the suburb of Kapuk into residential areas. On the other hand, Indonesia has experienced a significant growth in term of its population. The density level and congestion issue become a major issue for some the towns and cities in the country.   As a consequence, the demand for new housing, commercial and industrial areas increased rapidly in the past few years.   Therefore, it is understandable that the government is converting some the natural lands into residential areas. In conclusion, it is true that the government of Indonesia should preserve some of the natural areas, but due to the significant growth of the population, they should expand some residential and industrial land as well. In my point of view, I do agree that the government should expand housing and commercial areas in the future, but they should execute it in the proper way. It should be expanded proportionately and with cautious measurement, to ensure that the portion of natural and residential areas have a balance.