Many students around the world don t choose science subjects at university Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community

It has been observed that cultures and traditions have been changing with every generation. In my opinion the reason behind this is the disintegration of joint families along with a more career-oriented mindset of the recent generations. Several steps can be taken to change this. It is a well-known fact that cultural values and traditions are passed down from grandparents to grandchildren. However, due to changing lifestyle joint families are slowly and gradually getting converted to nuclear families. This prevents the grandparents from passing down beliefs and traditions to children. As the current generation is not aware of what their family beliefs and values are, they will follow the ones that they believe are appropriate. For example, children these days have little idea about most festivals. Secondly, as families become nuclear and parents focus more on their careers they have little time to transfer their culture and traditions to their children. Since, children learn from the actions of their parents, they end up acting in the same way with their children as their parents did with them. Therefore, this hampers the adoption of family values and traditions. To address the situation, people should be made aware of the benefits of staying in a joint family. This can be achieved through NGO or government agencies staging road shows or seminars that highlight the advantages. Furthermore, government should also contemplate to introduce additional tax benefits for people who prefer to stay in a joint family. To add to that, schools should introduce activities around culture and traditions that require greater involvement from parents. This would force the parents to contribute to the task and they would eventually end up passing down their traditions and cultures. To conclude, to ensure that age old traditions and cultures stay intact and are passed down to the younger generation, the government and schools should play an active role in spreading awareness about the positives of staying in a joint family and help facilitate conversation between parents and children on topics of culture and tradition through various activities.