Many students are choosing not to study science in universities. what are the causes for that. what are the effects of that

Over the past few years, it's been seen that the number of University goers who opt to pursue science in higher education are diminishing rapidly. In this context, it becomes highly imperative to discuss the cause that lies behind the proliferation of this menace as well as the resulting consequences. There are many forces at play here, which causes and accentuate the trend. But first and the foremost of all the contributing factors is the tremendous effort and time, these subjects demand for studying. The scholars of these subjects burn their elbow grease to cope up with their studies. Making things worse, their timeless efforts don't pay off well as the jobs they might get are not economically beneficial. For instance, an art student earns lot more than a science graduate. Thus, the unattractive salary package for science related jobs and endless tiring study schedule keeps the students away from choosing science for their career. The negative impact resulting from this tendancy of disinterest towards science would be insurmountable. Firstly, as less students pass out learning science, there would be a shortage for scientists in the upcoming years, which will hinder the development of newer inventions. In addition to this, as increasing number of educationally qualified scholars come out of colleges every year in other streams like business administration and arts, there develops a unbalanced workforce which results in unemployment. To conclude, nowadays educational institutions withness a downfall in the number of pupil taking up science and associated subjects during their tertiary education. The major reason behind this trend can be attributed to the less financial advantage it results in despite of the hard efforts they put in. This essay also discussed about the unhealthy outcomes it may bring along with it; that is unemployment and hindered technological advancement.