Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

It is often said that big supermarkets are the cause why local small stores are diminishing. This essay will vividly enlist a few effects of this trend to local communities, following some solution to improve this condition. The shutting down of local shops has a significant on people lives because for many people shops are the only source of their income. More and more people being attracted to shopping malls as they provide lucrative offers to customers to shop from their premises. Small shop owners simply cannot afford to provide such offers and therefore, they are closing their businesses.  To illustrate, a recent survey conducted by Trade Parliament of Uzbekistan revealed that 62% of people admitted that they would prefer to buy their grocery from large stores rather than from a small shop because they provide better price and a range of offers on a purchase. The rate of unemployment increases significantly after the local shops close their business. This is due to the fact that many people work in this unorganized sector and once the shop owners decide to shut their shops, they are unemployed. It becomes very difficult for them to get a new job because of shrinking businesses. To illustrate, in my hometown, a new shopping centre opened two years ago, and due to this mall, anumber small shop owners closed their shops due to continuous shrinking businesses and expelled their employees because more people preferred to shop from the mall. The government can take various measures to mitigate the potential problems explained above. One effective method which local government can implement is to put a cap on the prices of essential products and monitor them strictly. This will make sure that supermarket chains cannot dictate the pricing and eventually helps local shops to sustain themselves. Another possible solution is to set up various subsidized sources by the government for the local shops to purchase goods from. As a result, more and more people will be attracted to start such shops and ultimately this will help people especially those who cannot afford to travel long distances for their grocery shopping. In conclusion,  although large supermarkets are important in our life since  they supply us with our need, however small supermarkets are also important and we have to support them.