Many scientists regard testing on animals as being necessary, while others think it is unethical

Animal testing has been the subject of discussion amongst scientists, and the general public alike. On the one hand, many scientists say that experimenting on animals helps understand more about how different products might affect humans. Oppositely, some may argue that those experiments should not be a prioritized practice due to the inaccuracies. Despite all of the counterarguments, the advantages of animal testing far outweigh the sacrifices. Had it not been for testing on animals, our development nowadays would have been far more behind. Experiments on pigs described as early as 350 BC. are evidence of early forms of animal testing. It was also Louis Pasteur's studies on animals that led to the discovery of microorganisms. Another aspect of contemporary animal testing is engineering. Thanks to various launchings of animals into space, humans have discovered many potentials in space exploration and have since developed optimal equipment for space travel. Extensive progress had been made on genetic engineering, most noticeably in gene therapy research, where experiments on humanized animals are being done. Efficiency and accuracy in animal tests have always been a question for those not supporting animal experiments. After all, tests performed on lab animals might not reflect how humans would react. Many modern experiments done on animals have been flourishing, yet have not seen much success on humans. To combat this problem, experiments performed on animals should utilize modern technology, to lower the cost in the long run and yield more accurate results. Whether one should agree with experimenting on animals, there is no denying its benefits. Therefore, it is necessary to find the medium between certainty and the amount of research.