Many scientists believe that seeking out life by sending messages into space is a good idea while others feel that it is dangerous.

The curiosity of the unknown and unexplored has gripped humanity since our inception. Ever since we have wandered into space, we have searched for signs of intelligent life forms, so far unsuccessfully so. As space agencies continue to try and communicate with aliens, people have been questioning the safety of these actions. If we be optimistic and focus on the merits of this situation, if we are ever able to successfully communicate with an alien being, we might be able to form an alliance with them, which could prove to be very beneficial as we will be able to exchange and harvest essential resources from their planet. Moreover, if they have advanced more in the areas of technology and scientific research, we can use their knowledge to enhance our own ideas about the machinations of the universe. In the future, when humans decide to move to other planets, we will have more viable options and we can utilize their home planet as a rest station on our interstellar journeys. Looking towards the dark side of this issue, it is foolish to assume that a species, who are our intellectual superiors, would treat us with benevolence. If we need any confirmation for this fact, one can simply draw a parallel between how we have treated the species who are inferior to us, who share our planet. Secondly, we have no idea about the communication methods of extra-terrestrial beings, we are shooting in the dark with our messages, and so the signals that we have sent, for instance the golden record sent aboard the Voyager I, might be misconstrued. Worst case scenario the aliens might interpret them as a declaration of war. The aliens might even decide to simple exterminate human beings to exploit their source wealth of our planet earth.