Many people nowadays have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, employees are likely to opt for different jobs at the same time. This essay will firstly suggest diversified income sources to be the goal underlying this phenomenon, and secondly, consider whether the overall impact of this development has been positive or negative. Without uncertainty, having many jobs at the same time allows people to grow multiple income streams. In fact, owing to the current popularity of part-time or freelance employment, many employees are struggling to make ends meet with only one source of income, and they are also finding job security, health insurance and vacations to be privileges of work benefits, rather than rights. In these cases, having multiple jobs at once helps people improve their financial stability, and ensure avoidance of disaster if either job is disrupted. Celebrities are typical examples, whose volatile career paths had left many vulnerable to bankruptcy before side businesses became the norm in the industry. David Beckham, as an illustration, makes a good living out of his fashion brand post-hayday in comparison to his co-worker Ronaldinho, who ran dry his hundred-million-dollar fortune not long after retirement. In regards to the effect of this phenomenon, disadvantages can overwhelm advantages. One of the main problems of having multiple jobs at the same time is the low possibility to commit to important goals for career development. More specifically, it can be challenging for people with multiple jobs to win high achievements, as those require serious devotion of time and effort towards a single project, which is highly unrealistic, given the occupying of other priorities in their limited schedule. As a result, they need to make greater effort than others in terms of time management, discipline and productivity, or else, notable achievements in any career paths are beyond their reach. . In conclusion, while people think that taking different jobs at the same time allows them to boost their financial stability, it can make them become mediocre compared to competing professionals in their fields.