Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The journey from hunting for food to having meals on click of a button is evolutionary, party to this we have also made preservatives as an ingredient of our daily consumptions. This might be beneficial in some cases where the place is suffering from natural calamities or is in war for significant time, other than that I believe that these artificial ingredients have been detrimental to the health of many people and is slowing poisoning the population. These additives make perishable food sustain a longer shelf life, for example, now we get toned milk, which can be used up-to 90 days compared to the fresh milk which has to be consumed in one day. Such properties have made them admirable for places with extreme climates. In addition, these meals are found very useful in the places where environmental disasters have taken place, we have witnessed many rescue teams distribute items which are mostly preservable. These are beneficial for soldiers in war like situations, these items give them energy to sustain a difficult condition. As a result, the chemical infused meals supplement the wholesome eating and allows people to survive the extreme situations. On the other hand, these supplements are deteriorating the human life. Many people are diagnosed with cancer and other critical illness because of these artificial chemicals in our daily meals. Certain items such as packed fruit juice or flavoured milk are filled with sugar are very harmful for children at a young age, in a recent survey, it resulted that many young people are having type 2 diabetes and it was not inherent. Moreover, these non perishable items are also responsible for obesity and eating disorder. Thus, these processed foods have many negatives than positives. In conclusion, many ready-made foods contain preservatives and harmful chemicals which can be resourceful in helping countries affect with disasters whereas daily consumption of these packed meals is damaging the generation.