Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Now-a-days, employees are working late nights, resulting lack of time for other activities. This trend has major demerits such as health issues and lack of interaction, which outweigh the merits of having good pay raise and a promotion. On the one hand, extending work hours has many disadvantages. Primarily, it will effect the person both physically and emotionally. Firstly, obesity, blood preasure and fatigue are most commonly observed problems due to lack of exercise or participating in other leisure activities. Secondy, people spend very limited time with their family, mainly children, which has a detrimental impact on both. According to World Health Organization, people need to exercise an hour daily and spend atleast 3 hours of quality time in day with the family to avoid major health and emotional sickness. On the other hand, employees work over-time to have a good pay raise and a promotion. However, both can be achieved by being effective and efficient. They can save time by curbing un-necessary breaks, which helps to complete pending projects on time and leave the work premisis to have their personal time. For instance, research conducted by Bloomberg, stated that 80% of the employees who are successful have good work-life balance. They won't spend extra amount of time on work, which helps them to do leisure activities and stay fresh to achieve goals. To conclude, to participate in other liesure activities such as spending time with family and exercise in-order-to stay healthy physically and emotionally, it is pivotal to avoid working late. Even though, good appraisals and promotions are imporatant, while they can be achieved by being effective and efficient in managing time.