Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. This has more advantages or disadvantages.

In today's era, a working atmosphere becomes exceptionally competitive. Therefore, many employees prefer to work after office hours and give less importance to recreational activities. Although the benefits of this working system cannot be ignored, in this essay, I will explain why the drawbacks far outweigh them. There are several advantages people can get by working overtime. The first is that an individual can progress significantly in his career. This means working extra hours will allow employees to put in their additional efforts, and they can show their dedication, which can ultimately impress upper management. As a result, the chances of promotion also get increase. The second one is that one can make more money by working extra. This extra work is eventually rewarded by either overtime pay or an increment in the salary. This income is essentially helpful for the people to boost the budget, pay bills, expenses, credit, or loan debt. Despite the benefits, giving more priority to work and less to leisure activities has more drawbacks. The primary one is that an increase in poor health. Indeed, playing sports or doing exercise will keep you healthy. However, if you are working long hours in your office and not doing any activity in your spare time, it will cause various issues like obesity, poor eyesight, or even disturb mental health. Another one is working overtime could adversely affect personal life. We already spend a large portion of our life at our jobs, and working after office hours takes even more time away from our family life. This can mean less sleep, less time for hobbies, and less socializing. But by doing recreational activities, we can spend more time with our close ones, which can ultimately make the family bond stronger. In conclusion, by prioritizing more working hours over other recreational things, people can achieve a prosperous career and lucrative salary, but their health and personal life are also affected. Hence, I personally feel that this working system has more disadvantages.