Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The recent trend of extended work hours has been a controversial issue for a while. Quite a number of people spend a lot of time at work which leaves limited time for relaxation and this has been argued to have some benefits but it also comes with demerits. I strongly believe that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages because family time will be affected and the physical well being is also at a high risk. Firstly, I am an advocate of families spending time together on a daily basis. Considering those who go to work, the best time to come together as a family will be in the evening after the day's work and this affords the children to talk to their parents about the challenges they face in school either with teachers or even their peers. Spouses will also be able to unite and strengthen their affairs when they engage in activities that help them unwind after each day's work. For instance, my family always spends time together discussing our day during the dinner, which takes place at 6pm in the house, if my spouse does not make time for this meal time because of work, it will affect every member of the family. In addition, everyone must have time to engage in sporting activities that help build their physical fitness. This must also be of priority over spending too much time at work because health is wealth. Engaging in activities that relaxes our body and the mind will help us to be more productive rather than staying so late at work with less result. In conclusion, the importance of creating space for pleasure can never be over emphasised. Family relationships are built while we spend time together and the condition of our body and mind should be given much consideration by sparing ample time to exercise rather than working for long hours with limited leisure.