Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

An overwhelming number of people work for long hours which leaves them very few time for recreational activities. In my opinion, this has lots of drawbacks when compared to any minor benefits it might bring. Admittedly, if people work for long hours, it helps in their carrier progression as well as job prospects. In other words, since we have fierce competition in the job market, hardworking is inevitable for one to rise through ranks. Another point to consider is that working hard aids in the acquisition of desired skill which is required for a person to prove themselves to be an asset to the company. Therefore, people are offered not only incentives such as travel allowance but also fringe benefits like housing allowance and free medical insurance. Despite of the advantages mentioned above, I believe that instead of allocating some time for leisure activities if a person works for prolonged time, it brings lots of negative impacts. Firstly, constant work can result in burnout and affect our mental wellbeing. It is undeniable that people need to unwind from stress to become more productive. Secondly, people can turn their hobbies into useful skills. For instance, some interests such as photography or art offer a creative outlet. Finally, working hard will affect a person’s work/life balance and, therefore, blur the boundaries between personal and professional life. People would find it difficult to wind down at home as they work so hard. In conclusion, owing to the fact that recreational activities as well as free time are of paramount importance in a person’s life, negative impacts of people working hard for long time far outweighs any of the benefits it might bring.