Many people who drop out of school are more successful than those who complete their studies. Why does this happen? What does it require to be successful?

There are numerous high-profile success stories about entrepreneurs who left school early. This happens because these people hone practical skills in the absence of academics and the main requirement of success is hard work. Those who enter the labour market without academic qualifications have no choice but to compensate and make themselves concretely valuable. The most famous examples of this including Mark Zuckerberg and Steve Jobs make for compelling articles but are not representative of most drop-outs. Most get jobs doing some kind of manual or semi-skilled labour such as training to become an electrician, plumber or cook. These jobs can withstand market fluctuations and with accumulated experience earn a high salary comparable to most university graduates and even many doctorate students. The cliché that no one gets anywhere without working hard is true. If you choose to remain in school or drop out and enter the workforce, concerted effort will typically yield results. The examples of people getting rich quick or without much effort are appealing outliers but not instructive. A better example of the application of sustained perseverance is Dr. Seuss. His children’s books were continually rejected for more than two decades while he worked as a newspaper cartoonist to make ends meet. He continued to hone his craft and the quality of his work ensured that as long as he stuck with it, he would eventually be published. His wild success cannot be counted upon but everyone who dedicates themselves to a quality product will at least reap modest rewards. In conclusion, those who stop studying find themselves valued for their practical skills and the key to success is hard work. Technology has disrupted the job market drastically but hard work and commitment applied to any trade will always be eminently employable skills.