some people believe that companies should produce products that last for a long time. some others put the emphasis on producing cheaper goods. discuss both these views and give your opinion

The trends of product sales and marketing are changing constantly. According to a school of thought, industries should create items with durability as its most prominent feature while others believe that affordability is the key to better sales. Both these arguments along with my opinion will be elaborated in the following passages. Choosing quality over quantity has a number of merits. Firstly, it is a one-time investment for the consumer for a long period, which results in reduction of expenditure. Hence, it gives the right value of the money spent on it. For instance, a pair of good quality shoes, although expensive, last much longer than cheaper shoes. Secondly, the sturdiness of these items can also be life-saving in case of certain products like cars or furniture. Lastly, the increased life span of a product is also beneficial to the environment as the lesser use of raw materials and machinery lessens pollution and waste. On the contrary, cheaper products are more appealing to the individuals with lesser income. Knock-offs allow people to follow trends without spending a ginormous amount over them. Moreover, certain people prefer changing their possessions more frequently, which is not possible with expensive items. For example, it is difficult for a middle-class person, to upgrade an iPhone every year, whereas cheaper phones permit them to do so. In conclusion, although mass produced, affordable commodities have their advantages, I believe that the longevity of a product is essential. The best remuneration of an item is received by a consumer when it is reliable and durable.