Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Children are the future of this world, and hence it is absolutely essential that they realize the distinction between right and wrong and people often assort to methods like punishments to make them understand this. I partially agree with this statement and this essay will put forth as to why I do so and also the various means of punishment that can be imposed on children. First and foremost, all humans commit mistakes and children are no exception. However, most of the mistakes committed by children are due to lack of awareness and knowledge. In such cases, it is more appropriate to advise them and try to rectify the mistake. Nevertheless, in some cases where the child is seen to be repeatedly committing the same fault, then it is better that the child is punished so that it can leave an imprint on the child’s mind. Coming to punishments, in no way do I agree with physical punishments since it is unethical and illogical to inflict physical harm upon a child. In fact, parents and teachers must choose punishments in such a way that it makes the child reevaluate his or her fault and it is their duty to make sure that the children do not end up fearing the punishments, but rather understand as to why the punishment was imposed. Examples of such punishments could be imposing restrictions, detentions at school, impositions etc. Consequently, the child will understand where he or she went wrong and would try not to repeat the mistake. For example, my sister’s smartphone addiction grew exponentially during the lockdown that it started affecting her grades, which forced my parents to restrict her screen time. She faced problems at first, but then understood her mistake, and worked harder to achieve better grades. Thus, keeping in mind the importance of teaching children the right things at the right time, it is also essential to focus on the way in which these things are taught to the children, so that we can ensure a prosperous and healthy future.