Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

International sporting events are organized by many nations for various reasons. Some of these events take place every year and many of them are held every four years such as the Olympics. There are several advantages and drawbacks of organizing these sports events for the host countries. Let us examine the pros and cos of these. Numerous countries already organized international sporting events such as Olympics and FIFA World Cup. Bringing people from several parts of the world significantly results in economic growth due to their living expenses while staying in the host country. Furthermore, this serves a great opportunity for the country to showcase their tourism which can boost local economies. Welcoming people from variety of nations is a great example of promoting tolerance. The host country will surely be a role model to others to be accepting and hospitable. Undoubtedly, a great number of people would agree that this is easier said than done. Arranging enormous event like this means spending huge amount of money on building arenas, gyms and other facilities that will be used solely for this purpose. The money spent on this infrastructure could have expended constructing essential amenities such as schools and hospitals for the locals. Bringing people could pose a huge risk in security and health of the host country. For instance, the government may not have sufficient time or capacity to screen the attendees and their companions. In conclusion, hosting international event is a lifetime experience. In my view, advantages largely outweigh the demerits.