Many people use their own cars rather than public transport, so it is up to the government to encourage people to use buses and trains instead.

Due to the increasing number of private car owners, many people think that the government should encourage the use of public transport among their citizens. Personally, I totally agree with this point of view. The first reason why I advocate this idea is that using public transportation over personal commuting could decelerate carbon emission, one of the main culprits behind climate change, into the environment. Although a bus in fact can release a larger amount of carbon than a car for the same distances, a bus would cover numerous people. Thus, greenhouse gas emission per person is much less. As a result, the government should prompt public transport usage to fight against climate change, which annually wreaks havoc for many people around the world. Another reason is that traffic congestion could be lessened if the government uses force to decrease the number of private automobiles on the road. In fact, traffic jams nowadays have become a serious issue in many cities. If this situation is exacerbated, the city traffic system could deteriorate much worse. It is acknowledged that traffic jams transpire as a consequence of overloading of transportation on the road, especially the cars in the city, so using public commuting instead could be an effective measure to tackle this situation. In conclusion, I fully agree that using public transportation should be encouraged by the government as it is a viable solution to deal with climate change and traffic congestion. Furthermore, this idea should be implemented immediately because the traffic system is becoming progressively worse.