Many people try to look younger than what they really are. Why do you think they do this? Is it good or bad?

The process of growing old is inevitable in human life. Some strive to eliminate signs of aging and seem younger. The reason for this phenomenon and its positive and negative impacts are going to be discussed in this essay. Fighting aging may have some reasons. Firstly, human aging is accompanied by changes in appearance: Wrinkles, sagging skin and hair loss. These changes are mostly unwelcomed among people. Smooth, wrinkle-free and firm skin is criteria of beauty these days. Therefore, human instinctive desire for beauty, leading them to seek ways in order to look younger and thereby more beautiful. Secondly, aging has some mental impacts. By getting older our physical and mental performance fall, resulting in having bad feelings about ourselves. Since signs of aging in our body remind us that aging and its problems are close, we try to battle them which make us forget our actual age and think aging has been postponed resulting in feeling better. Thus, there are human's desire for beauty and the psychological impacts of aging that make us seek youth. Attempts for looking younger can have both advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, activities that delay aging including working out, skincare and healthy diet can not only make our body and brain work efficiently but also improve our spirit. So, trying to look younger through safe and normal activities is beneficial. On the one hand, engaging in dangerous activities such as indulging in surgeries and using unapproved supplements can cause irreparable damages. For instance, there are some uncertificated herbal or chemical supplements that are advertised to be anti-aging while ending up in severe health problems. Hence, the good or bad of striving for youth depends on the way we seek it. To sum up, since again is associated with unwelcome changes in physical appearance and has some distressing psychological effects, we want to look younger. I suppose it is a positive desire if reaching through natural activities; however, following dangerous activities to obtain it can make it a destructive tendency.