Many people envy entrepreneurs, perceiving them as wealthy individuals who can do as they please. However, owning your own business also entails a great deal of responsibility. Do you believe the advantages of being self-employed outweigh the disadvantages? Support your answers with specific reasons.

Numerous people are jealous of business owners, considering them as rich individuals who can do whatever they want. Although, owning your own business furthermore is a big responsibility. There are plenty of benefits and drawbacks of being self –employed. First and foremost, entrepreneurs who have their own business are independent and they have financial gain. In other words they are their own bosses, they make the decisions as well as they choose the employees and what work they will do. Last but not least they decide what hours to work. In addition, entrepreneurship offers a greater possibility of achieving significant financial rewards than working for someone else. Owning your own business removes the income restraint that exists in being someone else’s employee. On the other hand, there are and many disadvantages of being self-employed. For instance the time commitment. What I mean is that when someone opens his own business, it’s likely, at least in the beginning, that they will have few employees. This leaves all of the duties and responsibilities to the owner. Therefore, this time commitment can place a strain on family and friends and add to the stress of launching a new business venture. Even if the business has been structured to minimize the risk and liability to the owner, risk can’t be completely eliminated. For instance, if an individual leaves a secure job to follow an entrepreneurial dream and the business fails, this financial setback can be hard to overcome. In a nutshell, before someone starting a business it would be good to weigh the advantages and disadvantages in order that to understand if he will able to cope with all this.