Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Nowadays it can be easily noticed that the number of child-free families or nuclear families with just one infant is on the rise, particularly in Western countries. In this essay I shall try to explain the reasons for this situation as well as provide arguments to explain why this is a rather negative tendency. To start with, it is imperative that we understand the logic behind this trend and it seems reasonable to claim that there are 2 main reasons for that. The first one is that today people are preoccupied with their careers and financial well-being is the only aspect that interests them. There is no doubt that it is much easier to advance on a career ladder when you are free from any childcare responsibilities. Secondly, as of today, many individuals would like to experience all benefits of modern life including travelling to various places of the world, so for them it is advantageous to postpone having children, since it may interfere with their plans. As for my personal judgement, I should say that such a situation poses a number of disadvantages for individuals as well as authorities. First of all, by having only one child or none at all, adults limit their possibilities in the long run. By saying this I mean that later on in life they will not have anyone to help them out. As for the government, dwindling numbers of younger people means that in some 20-30 years the proportion of elderly people will increase significantly and a bigger part of the budget has to be allocated for pensions and subsidies. This, in turn, will diminish the amount of money spent on other purposes and disadvantage everyone. All things considered, we can clearly see that the reasons for the falling numbers of kids are plain and simple: pursuit of freedom and financial motivation. However, I have to state that in the long run such a tendency might prove to be disadvantageous for everyone.