Many people today believe that there should be fixed punishments for specific crimes. However, others are the opinion that this approach is inappropriate.

Some people argue that mandatory sentencing should be used in some criminal cases. However, I would argue that adopting this kid of system is not the best course of action. This essay will discuss both points of view. There are number of benefits associated with using fixed punishments for crime. Firstly, mandatory sentencing can make the justice system stronger especially when judges are seen to be consistently making decisions that are too lenient. Occasionally, judges do not factor in the expectations of the community particularly in response to violent, sex or repeat offenders. Secondly, mandatory sentencing is considered fair by many people. Oftentimes, the public complains that the rich are given special treatment or that the poor are treated harshly. Fixed punishments could be the answer to these problems. However, mandatory sentencing is not always the correct response to problems in the justice system. The particular circumstance of a crime or criminal should never be ignored. For example, if a wife has been abused by her husband for many years and one day she snaps and kills him, the justice system should have enough flexibility to treat her differently to someone who murder in a cold calculating matter. Motivation is another key aspect that needs to be factored in when punishing crime. Crimes motivated by greed and power should be judged more harshly than those motivated by desperation and necessity. In conclusion, although there are some benefits related to fixed punishments, on closer examination, flexibility is critical to having a truly fair justice system. Therefore, I believe that factoring in circumstances and motivation are crucial if true justice is to be handed down.