Many people think that zoos, which keep wild animals in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

I agree that there is no place for zoos in the 21st century. I feel that zoos are an unsuitable environment for animals, and therefore should be abolished. A number of arguments support my opinion. Firstly, zoo animals are kept in very confined areas with their vast natural habitat. Due to this, zoo animals develop unnatural habits like pacing back and forth or swaying from side to side. For example, polar bears are given about 10 metres of walking space, whereas in arctic home they roam for hundreds of kilometres. Similarly, lions and tigers are confined in cage where they lack exercise and stimulation. What is more, it is very common for visitors to tease and provoke caged animals. This also leads to unnatural behavior in animals. Secondly, the breeding programmes taken up by zoos are not very successful. For instance, the 'Panda Breeding programme' has been very costly and unsuccessful. Also, zoos life does not prepare animals for the challenges of life in the world. They are provided good food because they cannot hunt for themselves. Finally, the zoo is an unnatural environment that exposes animals to many dangers. Diseases often spread between species that would never live together naturally. For example, many Asian elephants have died in African zoos after catching herpes from African elephants. To sum up, I would reiterate my opinion that zoos are unnatural habitats for the wild animals and there is no justification in caging these marvelous creatures of God.