It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

As a part of their upbringing, young children should be taught right from wrong by their parents and teachers. In my opinion, this is unavoidably associated with punishment because children do not know yet what behaviour is acceptable and decent. However, only humane forms of punishment ought to be practised, such as deprivation of desirable entertainment and moralizing discussions. Of course, when young children behave badly, they should face some negative consequences because otherwise, they are likely to repeat the action. For example, if they throw a tantrum in the attempt to obtain a new toy, children cannot be allowed to achieve success since in that case they will remember this as an effective strategy. This is based on the system of negative reinforcement in learning, which means that negative repercussions of some action prevent its internalization. Thus, parents and teachers should deploy punishment for children to act properly. Nevertheless, the methods of punishment ought to be mild in order to exclude psychological traumas. One technique can be a mere explanation of why a particular type of behaviour must be avoided. Children should be told, for instance, that stealing candies from a shop is not only condemned by society but also means that the shop assistants and owners will lose money and suffer. Another efficient punishment is disallowing access to entertainment and dainties. The Internet connection, in particular, can be switched off for a child who has had bad marks, or their plan to attend a party cancelled. In conclusion, naughty children should be punished from an early age in order for them to develop healthy behaviour patterns, but the punishment should not be severe and can include moralizing talks or lost amusement opportunities.