Many people think that the best way to provide education to children in rural communities is to provide internet access and computers, rather than building new schools. Do you agree or disagree?

Education in rural schools is increasing concern for many governments around the world. While a common opinion is that rural schools should be equipped with computers and internet, other people feel that building new schools should be a greater priority. In this essay I will examine both sides of this argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that providing students with technology and access to the web is vital. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because most employers expect their staff to be computer-literate. Unlike in the past, students today must have good training in areas such as MS Word and Excel, and using internet browsers such as Google Chrome. Secondly, using a variety of teaching methods, including both online and offline work, tends to keep students more ineterested. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that building new schools is more important. Perhaps the main reason why people think that this is vital is because old buildings can be dangerous. If students spend all their time in these buildings, they might get injured by electrical faults or structural collapses. Another point is that populations are generally expanding, and so the need for new and bigger schools is inevitable. I am of the opinion that it is not possible to make a blanket policy for this issue, and it should be dealt with on a case-by-case basis. If the government allows schools to choose how they spend their money, all rural school children will benefit from a better education.