Many people think that spending a lot for weddings is a waste of money. Others think it is important in individuals’ life and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People diverge on their views concerning what is spent on some celebrations. A school of thought thinks marking such occasions amounts to squandering money while another feels the significance of such ceremonies to people and the society makes the celebrations worthy. Though there are some valid arguments on both sides, I feel the former view wins it as I will explain below. On the one hand, ceremonies like weddings are done once in a lifetime and this body of opinion thinks no amount of money spent should be considered outrageous. These are occasions of high calibre and class defined, for example, by the wedding attires of the bride and groom, quality of meals and drinks, which usually make the occasion indelible in the memory of people. Besides, others like birthdays have some religious and traditional implications and it is mandatory in some families that they are marked with splendour and make it elaborate and colourful. On the other hand, birthdays and weddings are not only about merrymaking. This school of thought believe life after the party is what defines the matrimony, not the lavish spendings at the events. They argue that the parties are tantamount to throwing money, which would have been better channelled into planning for the future of the couple, away. Though the other side of the argument may retort that the events are marked once a while, it appears they are oblivious of the sufferings of many after marriage due to immodest spendings on these occasions. For instance, my cousin lived on friends and family members for many years after spending all his fortune on his wedding on the basis of being a once-a-lifetime event for him. In conclusion, while some events like birthdays and marriage ceremonies may be of significance to people and the society as defining their statuses or cultures, I consider them acts of wastefulness as they have led many families to penury.