Governments make rules to protect people from danger, for example by making people wear seat belts in cars or not allowing smoking in public buildings. However, many people believe there are too many rules nowadays. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there are a lot of restrictions these days by the government; however, the government puts hindrances for the protection of the public from various casualties like put seat belts while driving and to prohibit smoking at community places. Personally, I disagree with the idea that government should not make rules and regulations because I believe that these are only the benefits for these people who do not like it. On the one hand, I agree that freedom is necessary and everyone likes it. People want to lead their lives as per as they want. Many people like to smoke, and they consider smoking in a luxurious and impressive way. They think that with smoking they can impress others. Likewise, they do not like to wear seatbelts because it distracts them, and they do not want to wear them. In this way, people feel the restrictions as a burden on them, and they want to get rid of them, and they dislike it. Nevertheless, I believe that restrictions are only for the safety purpose, so that’s why government impose them. Firstly, smoking is not good for health; it causes lung cancer, so government controls it with the help of certain laws. Secondly, seat belts are necessary to save people from accidents on the roads. That’s why government fine people who break these rules; they set a different number of penalties to stop them to break the rules. In conclusion, while freedom gives people happiness, but if it is not good for their well being then it needs to be regulated with certain rules.